• aussengestaltung-architektur-01.jpg
  • aussengestaltung-architektur-02.jpg
  • aussengestaltung-architektur-03.jpg
  • architektur-aussengestaltung-6.jpg

External Architecture

The Augsburger Kammgarnspinnerei (AKS) was a worsted spinning mill founded in 1836 by the entrepreneur Friedrich Merz. It was the first large industrial plant in the city and continued operation until 2004. The AKS employed up to 2000 people and for a time was the largest worsted spinning mill in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The tim is housed in the front building and the adjacent saw-tooth roofed buildings of the AKS. The renowned Graz architect Klaus Kada proceeded extremely carefully when undertaking the redesign of the historic structure. Visitors are thus able to experience the unique atmosphere of the period of promoterism in the entrance and exhibition areas – combined with modern architecture. Equally impressive are the saw-tooth roofed buildings of the 1950s, where the museum weaving mill, among other things, is housed.

The museum site also includes the so-called Basilica and the old power house, both designed at the end of the 19th century by the Augsburg star architect of the time, Jean Keller. Also very imposing is the “new” power house, completed in the 1930s – the largest of its kind in South Germany.